Q: What are the domain requirements to use Dynamic Access Control (DAC) in Windows 8?

A: Dynamic Access Control introduces a new way to think about giving users access to data, which is based around user attributes being used to populate claims that match policies on classifications of data.

To use Dynamic Access Control, the forest functional level must be Windows Server 2003, and there must be at least one Windows Server 2012 (formerly code-named Windows Server 8) domain controller per domain.

See the Microsoft website for more details on Dynamic Access Control.

To see more answers about Windows Server 2012, Windows 8, virtualization, and all things IT,  click over to our FAQs page.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.