Q. Can I have Windows NT 4 BDC's in my Windows 2008 and Server 2008 R2 Active Directory domains?

A. No. You can have NT 4 BDCs (but never NT 4 PDCs) in Windows 2000 and Windows Server 2003 domains, but there can't be any NT 4 BDCs in the domain if you add a Server 2008 or later domain controller (DC). Windows 2000 and Server 2003 DCs are both supported in domains with Server 2008 and Server 2008 R2 DCs, except for setting domain functional levels. If you set a domain to Server 2008 domain functional level, for example, then you can only have Server 2008 and above DCs.

Related Reading:

Check out hundreds more useful Q&As like this in John Savill's FAQ for Windows. Also, watch instructional videos made by John at ITTV.net.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.