Internet Explorer 4.0 will use new security technology

Microsoft introduced a new browser-based Internet security technology this week that it plans to use with Internet Explorer 4.0, due this summer. The new technology establishes "security zones" that allows users to logically split the Web into trust-based zones. A Web page in a trusted zone, for example, could automatically display ActiveX controls and Java applets, while pages in untrusted zones could not. IE 4.0 will include four default zones: Standard Internet, Intranet, Trusted, and Untrusted. Additional zones can be created and the user can modify the settings for each zone.

Microsoft is also planning on incorporating the Java 1.1 security model into IE 4.0 so that digital signatures in Java applets will inform the user whether he or she wants to download them

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.