When you map a network drive, My Computer shows:
|Windows 2000||share name on 'computer name' (DriveLetter:)|
|Windows XP||share name on 'computer description' (computer name) (DriveLetter:)|
If you wish to hide the share name, 'computer name', or 'computer description', you can right-click the object in My Computer and press Rename. When you finish, My Computer shows:
New Name (DriveLetter:)
Windows 2000 stores this information at:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\MountPoints\DriveLetter\_LabelFromReg, in a Value Name of Cache, a REG_BINARY data type. The data value is the Unicode string representing the New Name.
Unless the connection is persistent, the DriveLetter subkey is deleted when you delete the mapping. If in the same session, you map DriveLetter again, the New Name is restored from memory, even if the mapping is different. You must logoff after you delete the mapping for New Name to be forgotten.
Windows XP permanently stores this information at:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\MountPoint2\##ComputerName#ShareName, in a Value Name of _LabelFromReg, a string (REG_SZ) data type. The data value is the plain text New Name.
Even if you delete the mapping, when you map any drive letter to this \\ComputerName\ShareName, the New Name will be displayed. The only way to change it is to rename it again, or delete the ##ComputerName#ShareName subkey.
NOTE: See How can I rename a mapped drive?