Skip navigation

Q. What are the VMware certifications and how are they obtained?

A. VMware currently offers three levels of certification, beginning with its entry-level VMware Certified Professional (VCP) certification. Next is the VMware Certified Advanced Professional (VCAP), and finally the board-certified VMware Certified Design Expert (VCDX).

Notably different from many other IT industry certifications, VMware's certifications all require attendance in at least one VMware-authorized course to obtain the VCP certification. Passing the VCP test without taking the course won't bestow the certification. The course requirement is implied in VMware's other certifications, because those certifications require VCP credentials as part of their requirements.

One exam is currently required to obtain the VCP, with one more required for the VCAP. For the current version, version 4, the VCAP comes in two flavors: VCAP – Datacenter Administration and VCAP – Datacenter Design. Passing either of these two exams will bestow the VCAP credential.

VMware's highest-level credential, the VCDX, requires the VCP and both VCAP exams. It also requires submitting and defending a VMware Infrastructure Design and Implementation Plan through a board-certification process.

Catch up with @ConcentratdGreg on Twitter!

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.