Q. What are Microsoft's virtualization certifications and how are they obtained?

A. Microsoft's virtualization certifications are separated into two different classes of examinations. Microsoft's MCTS exams are intended to test skills with a specific Microsoft technology. Microsoft's MCITP exams test skills relating to the tasks that make up a specific job role.

Passing a single MCTS exam will bestow the MCTS credential for that exam's technology. Microsoft then requires passing one or more MCTS exams along with an MCITP exam to obtain the MCITP credential.

For its virtualization technologies, Microsoft currently offers the MCITP: Windows Server 2008 R2, Virtualization Administrator as its top-level certification. Achieving this certification requires passing the 70-659 (or 70-652), as well as the 70-669 MCTS exams. These exams focus on Microsoft's server and desktop virtualization technologies. Completing these along with the 70-693 MCITP exam completes the requirements for the MCITP: Windows Server 2008 R2, Virtualization Administrator certification.

Catch up with @ConcentratdGreg on Twitter!

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.