Skip navigation

Q. What are Citrix's virtualization certifications and how are they obtained?

A. As of this writing, Citrix offers three levels of virtualization-focused certification. From entry-level to advanced, they are: Citrix Certified Administrator (CCA), Citrix Certified Enterprise Engineer (CCEE), and Citrix Certified Integration Architect (CCIA).

The CCA certification is product focused, with multiple certifications available on Citrix's many products. Different CCA certifications require passing different numbers of exams. For example, the CCA for Citrix XenServer 5 requires passing only its 1Y0-A09 Implementing Citrix XenServer Enterprise Edition 5.0 exam (or its earlier 1Y0-A24 Citrix XenServer 5.6 Administration exam).

Citrix's CCA for Citrix XenServer 5 Platinum Edition credential requires passing two exams, the 1Y0-A09 and the 1Y0-A06 (Implementing Citrix Provisioning Server 5.0).

The CCEE and CCIA have further requirements. The CCEE requires first obtaining the CCA credential on three products (XenApp, XenServer, and XenDesktop). After that, the 1Y0-A08 (Advanced Administration for Citrix XenApp 5.0 for Windows Server 2008) and the 1Y0-A15 (Engineering a Citrix Virtualization Solution) exams are required.

The CCIA requires one additional exam after obtaining the CCEE, the 1Y0-A16 (Architecting a Citrix Virtualization Solution).

Catch up with @ConcentratdGreg on Twitter!

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.