Understand Azure Guest OS Families

Understand Azure Guest OS Families

Learn about Azure Guest OS Families.

Q. What are Guest OS Families in Azure?

A. Azure has a number of Guest OS Family versions (at time of writing, 1 through 4).

  • 1 - Windows 2008
  • 2 - Windows 2008 R2
  • 3 - Windows 2012
  • 4 - Windows 2012 R2

As time progresses, different Guest OS Families are retired from support in Azure. For example, at this time, Guest OS Family 1 (Windows 2008) has been retired from support as documented at https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/subscriptions/dn750850.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.