Microsoft Exchange Server 2007 Clustering Modes

Whereas Exchange 2003 really offers only one type of clustering support (local, with multiple servers sharing a SAN), Exchange 2007 supports log shipping both remotely and locally, which opens up new modes of clustering:

* Local Continuous Replication (LCR), a single-server solution in which the system uses the logs to create a second copy of a storage group (SG) on a different set of disks. This method gives you a second copy of the data. For more information about LCR, go to

* Cluster Continuous Replication (CCR), a two-server solution in which the system ships the logs to a second server to maintain a second copy of the SG. This second server can be local or remote. For more information about CCR, go to

* Single Copy Clusters (SCC), the same idea as Exchange 2003 clusters, in which one set of data is connected to multiple servers. For more information about SCC, go to

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.