How can I determine which version of NTFS I'm using?

A. Different versions of Windows have included different NTFS drivers and performed automatic updates (I remember needing to have an updated ntfs.sys file for Windows NT 4.0 on my Windows 2000 dual-boot system). Win2K and later Windows versions include the Fsutil command, which lets you perform actions and queries against your file system.

To determine the version of an NTFS volume, type

fsutil fsinfo ntfsinfo <volume>:
at the command prompt. For example, when I type this command, the following records appear on screen:
NTFS Volume Serial Number : 0xa87006e47006b958
Version : 3.1
Number Sectors : 0x00000000061a7926
Total Clusters : 0x0000000000c34f24
Free Clusters : 0x0000000000adad78
Total Reserved : 0x0000000000000000
Bytes Per Sector : 512
Bytes Per Cluster : 4096
Bytes Per FileRecord Segment : 1024
Clusters Per FileRecord Segment : 0
Mft Valid Data Length : 0x0000000002ce4400
Mft Start Lcn : 0x00000000000c0000
Mft2 Start Lcn : 0x000000000061a792
Mft Zone Start : 0x00000000000ffca0
Mft Zone End : 0x00000000001011e0

By reviewing these records, we can see that my computer is running NTFS version 3.1 (the Windows XP version). By default, Win2K provides NTFS version 3.0 and NT 4.0 provides NTFS version 1.2.

TAGS: Windows 8
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.