How can I create a 5th security zone in Internet Explorer?

A. By default Internet Explorer has 4 security zones however its possible to add a 5th by directly editing the registry. If you copy the following into 5th.reg then double click the fifth zone will be created:

\[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\5\]<br>
"DisplayName"="Internet with Cookies"<br>
"Description"="This zone contains all Web sites you haven't placed in other zones"<br>

If you now restart Internet Explorer a new option will be available under Tools - Internet Options - Security which you can select.

Click here to view image

TAGS: Security
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.