Q. Is Local Continuous Replication (LCR) supported in Exchange 2010?

A. In Exchange 2007, LCR allows two copies of the same mailbox database to be hosted on a single server. LCR provides protection against mailbox corruption by replaying transaction logs into a second copy. In Exchange 2010, Cluster Continuous Replication and Standby Continuous Replication were unified into a single Database Availability Group (DAG) model, which allows 16 servers per DAG, with multiple copies of each database. However, LCR wasn't included.

You can't have more than one copy of the same database on a single node with DAG, so the LCR functionality you have in Exchange 2007 no longer exists in Exchange 2010.

Related Reading:

Check out hundreds more useful Q&As like this in John Savill's FAQ for Windows. Also, watch instructional videos made by John at ITTV.net.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.