Q. Is it true that Outlook 2010 supports mailboxes from multiple Exchange servers?

A. Yes, Exchange 2010 supports three Exchange mailboxes concurrently by default, and you can increase this limit to 15. This is a big change from previous versions, which restricted you to one Exchange connection at a time. When you add multiple Exchange mailboxes to an Outlook instance, each mailbox is displayed in the navigation pane, as shown. The first three in this example are Exchange organizations.

Editor's note: Previous versions of Exchange allow you to have several mailboxes on the same server, but in Exchange 2010, you can have mailboxes on different servers.

Related Reading:

Check out hundreds more useful Q&As like this in John Savill's FAQ for Windows. Also, watch instructional videos made by John at ITTV.net.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.