How can I make NT see more than 8 units on SCSI?

A. By default Windows NT 4.0 will only detect the first eight logical units on a SCSI device.

This has been fixed in Service Pack 5 with the following action:

  1. Start the registry editor (regedit.exe)
  2. Move to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\<Driver Service Name>\Parameters\Device<N>
  3. From the Edit menu select Add - DWORD value
  4. Enter a name of LargeLuns and press Enter
  5. Double-click the new value and set to 1. Click OK
  6. Close the registry editor
  7. Restart the machine

NT will now support up to 255 SCSI units.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.