Skip navigation

ESS and BSS Service Sets

When you configure your wireless access device, you notice a field called Service Set ID (SSID). You must configure all connecting devices and Access Points (APs) in a service set to use the same SSID. The two types of service sets are Basic Service Set (BSS) and Extended Service Set (ESS). A BSS consists of a group of computers and one AP, which links to a wired LAN. An ESS consists of more than one AP. An ESS lets mobile users roam anywhere within the area covered by multiple APs. Because the main article focuses on wireless networking in the home, I tested devices in BSS mode. Although many wireless home networks will work without making any adjustments to the default setting, if you plan to use a wireless device at home and at the office, make sure that you can configure the access device to be compatible with your workplace.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.