JSI Tip 9510. If you re-map a drive letter in Windows XP, the label is NOT updated in Windows Explorer?

If you fail to Disconnect Network Drive in Windows XP and map the same drive letter to a different share on the same 'server', Windows Explorer will NOT update the the label of the drive letter.

NOTE: When you view the contents of the drive letter, the new share is reflected.

Prior to mapping a drive letter, you must disconnect any shares:

1. Open Windows Explorer or My Computer.

2. Use the Tools menu to select Disconnect Network Drive.

3. Select the drive letter you wish to disconnect and press OK.

Alternately, you can:

1. Open a CMD.EXE window.

2. Type the following command and press Enter, where <DriveLetter:> is the drive letter you wish to disconnect:

net use <DriveLetter:> /DELETE /PERSISTENT:NO



Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish