JSI Tip 2071. The uninstall of SP4, or greater, doesn't seem to return me to the previous SP?

Services Packs, from SP4 onward, offer the option to create an uninstall folder.

If you apply a Service Pack, and subsequently reapply it, choosing the option to create an uninstall folder, you have just over-written your previous unistall folder with the files from the current service pack.

In this situation, an uninstall simply puts the current service pack files back.

To guard against this happening to you, copy the uninstall folder to a backup folder. If you ever accidentally over-write it, just delete the contents of the uninstall folder and copy your backup files to it.

NOTE: Microsoft does NOT support copying your previous Service Pack files to the uninstall folder.

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish