Q. If I use hard linking with the User State Migration Tool (USMT) then repartition the disk, will I lose the USMT migration store?

A. Hard linking with USMT stores the migration information on the partitions where the data originally resided. If you intend to delete the partitions and recreate them, you'll lose the USMT migration store for those partitions. If repartitioning is required, don't use hard linking. Store your migration data on the network instead.

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish