JSI Tip 1372. How can I prevent the My Briefcase icon from being created on a new users desktop?

The following registry hack does not remove the My Briefcase icon from a user who has previously logged on:

Use Regedt32 to modify the default user hive on the server and NT Workstation at:

\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon

On the Edit menu, Add Value name RunSyncApp as a type REG_DWORD and set the data value to 0.

On the NT Workstation, navigate to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon

On the Edit menu, Add Value name RunSyncApp as a type REG_DWORD and set the data value to 0.

Rename %SystemRoot%\System32\syncapp.exe to syncapp.old.

Shutdown and restart the NT Workstation.

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish