Q. If I protect a USB drive with BitLocker and configure it to autounlock on a computer, does it autounlock only for my user or for all users of the computer?

A. Autounlock configurations for BitLocker-encrypted USB devices are stored on a per-user basis on each computer. For example, say you configure the BitLocker password to be saved when logged on as user Bruce. If the user Clark connects the same USB device to the same computer, the BitLocker password will need to be entered.

Related Reading:



Check out hundreds more useful Q&As like this in John Savill's FAQ for Windows. Also, watch instructional videos made by John at ITTV.net.
Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish