Restoring Hidden Dialog Boxes

When you sort Microsoft Office Outlook 2003 messages by category, you can select a category heading and press Delete to delete the entire category. Outlook then displays the warning This action will apply to all items in the selected groups and a check box saying Please do not show me this dialog again. I selected the check box, but have since changed my mind. How can I get that dialog box back?

Information about the dialog boxes that Outlook 2003 is hiding resides in the HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\11.0\Outlook\Options\General\ registry subkey in a REG_SZ value that has the name PONT_STRING. The text in the registry value, if present, consists of one or more numbers, each followed by a comma. Each suppressed dialog box corresponds to a different number. With a little trial and error, I've compiled the list of code numbers that Table 1 shows for a few of the most common dialog boxes.

The code for the bulk deletion dialog box is 31. To restore it, simply delete "31,"—including the trailing comma—from the PONT_STRING registry value.

The same technique also works in earlier versions of Outlook. Just replace 11.0 in the registry subkey with 10.0 for Outlook 2002 or 9.0 for Outlook 2000.

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish