A. The most common cause is if your roaming profile path and your home directory path are the same. It seems that part of the update makes sure the contents of the directories (and subdirectories) are the same, and as the local profile directory does not contain your home directory files they are deleted!
You should therefore change the location of the roaming profile so it is different from the users home directory. It may be a subdirectory if you wish. This can be changed by using the User Manager application, click the Profiles button and change the locations.