Saving document versions - 30 Oct 2007

To save a version, do one of the following:

  • Choose File → Versions and click Save Now. Enter comments that describe the version.

    Versions dialog box

    You can select Automatically save a version on close to ensure that the document is versioned each time you close it.
  • In the Save As dialog box, click the Tools button and choose Save Version.

The difference between the Versions feature and saving "backups" using the automatic backup feature, or by choosing Save As and giving the file a new name is that, with the Version feature, all versions are stored within a single file. The document actually contains each of its versions in a single package.

To access a previous version, choose File ? Versions, select a version and click Open.

Each time a version is saved (manually or using the Automatically save a version on close option), the file size will grow somewhat. In addition, the document will contain all saved versions, which may include sensitive information.
Be certain to delete all previous versions as part of finalizing a document, prior to sending it to its recipient. To delete previous versions, choose File ? Versions, select a version and click Delete.

 

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish