Q. The folder attributes are removed when you copy a user profile in Windows XP and in Windows Server 2003?

In Windows 2000, if you use the Permitted to use option in the User Profiles setting in the System Properties dialog to copy the contents of a local profile, and the target folder already exists, attributes that existed, such as Hidden, are not deleted.

In Windows XP and Windows Server 2003, if the target folder exists, the folder is deleted and re-created, removing existing attributes.

To workaround this behavior, do not use the Permitted to use option, setting the folder permissions on the target folder using Windows Explorer:

1. Use Windows Explorer to copy the source folder contents to the destination folder.

2. Right-click the destination folder and press Properties.

3. Select the Security tab.

4. In the Group or user names box, select the group or user name that you want to grant permissions.

5. In the Permissions for .... box, select the Allow check box permissions that you want to grant to the group or user.

6. Select the Deny box for the permissions that you want to deny to the group or user.

7. Press Apply and OK.

NOTE: See tip 4904 » How do I Set, View, Change, or Remove Special Permissions for Files and Folders in Windows XP?

NOTE: See tip 4899 » How do I Set, View, Change, or Remove File and Folder Permissions using Windows XP?

NOTE: See tip 10705 » How do I Configure Security for Files and Folders on a Network in Windows Server 2003?


Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish