Preserve a master

In most cases, PowerPoint will automatically delete a master if it is not used by any slides in the presentation. To prevent PowerPoint from deleting an unused master, you must preserve the master.

  • Right-click the master thumbnail preview and choose Preserve Master.
  • Click the Preserve Master button in the Slide Master View toolbar.
  • Choose Edit → Preserve Master.
A master can still be manually deleted when it is preserved.
Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish