JSI Tip 8127. How do I prevent the loss of program settings, and data, when reinstalling, repairing, or upgrading Windows XP?

If your installation of Windows XP was preinstalled by an OEM, you may loose data from the All Users folder, data and settings from the Default user profile, shortcuts from the Start menu, and other objects from the Shared Documents folder, when you reinstall or repair Windows XP, or when you upgrade Windows XP Home Edition to Windows XP Professional.

This problem can occur if you perform any of the following on an installation of Windows XP that was preinstalled by an OEM:

  • You perform an in-place update by reinstalling Windows XP into the same folder by selecting Upgrade (Recommended) in WinNT32.exe.
  • You perform an in-place update by reinstalling Windows XP into the same folder by pressing Install Windows XP on the Welcome to Microsoft Windows XP screen that displays when you insert the Windows XP CD.
  • You boot the Windows XP CD-ROM and press Enter to setup Windows XP, and then press R to repair the selected installation.
  • You upgrade Windows XP Home Edition to Windows XP Professional.

This behavior can occur if the %SystemRoot%\System32\Undo_guimode.txt file, which is created the first time you start your OEM installed computer, exists.

NOTE: This problem will NOT occur if the latest service pack is installed on Windows XP.

To workaround this problem, prior to performing the subject actions, open a CMD.EXE window, type del /a /f %SystemRoot%\System32\Undo_guimode.txt, and press Enter.

NOTE: See tip 5808 ยป How do I perform an in-place upgrade (re-installation) of Windows XP?



Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish