JSI Tip 5960. Why does the 'Delete Subfolders and Files' permission display when I view 'Files only'?

When you use the Security tab, on a Windows 2000 computer, to press Advanced and View/Edit permissions, the Delete Subfolders and Files check box is displayed when you select Files only from the Apply onto drop-down box?

The Delete Subfolders and Files permission is only useful on folders and should NOT be displayed for files.

The Delete Subfolders and Files permission is NOT used for files. You can ignore this check box.

This error has been corrected in Windows XP.



Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish