JSI Tip 5723. Windows XP SP1 changes the default share permissions.

The default permissions on new Windows NT-based shares used to be Everyone - Full Control.

Starting with Windows XP SP1, the default permissions on a new share are Everyone - Read.

If you are sharing a folder that requires that users have write and/or delete permission, DO NOT forget to set the share permissions to Change or Full Control.

See How do I Set, View, Change, or Remove File and Folder Permissions using Windows XP?

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.