JSI Tip 5333. Guest account local profile is NOT deleted after a Windows XP logoff?

In previous Windows NT-based operating systems (Windows NT 4.0 and Windows 2000), the local profile of a member of the Guests local group is deleted when the user logs off, except if they are also members of the Administrators local group.

In Windows XP, the local profile of a member of the Guests local group is only deleted if the computer joins a domain, and the user is NOT a member of the Administrators local group.

This design change makes it possible for home users to create an account with guest privileges that will NOT be lost when the guest logs off.



Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish