JSI Tip 4111. Why does a mapped drive in Windows Explorer show the name of a previously disconnected drive?

If you disconnect a drive drive letter and use that drive letter to connect to a different network drive, Windows Explorer displays the previous share label?

The content of the new share is properly displayed, but the label is incorrect.

This can occur if the DesktopProcess is set to 1.

To resolve the issue, delete the DesktopProcess value name.

Microsoft does NOT support problems when you use the DesktopProcess value name.

NOTE: Microsoft does NOT support using RunAs to execute Windows Explorer.


Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish