JSI Tip 0874. BCWipe freeware wipes freespace.

Download BCWipe.exe and bc3help.zip to clear sensitive information using explorer or the command line.

"When you delete your sensitive files from a disk on your computer, operating system (Windows 95 or Windows NT) does not erase these files' contents from the disk - it only deletes 'references' on these files from some system tables. Contents of the deleted file (or file's body) continue to be stored on the disk and can be easily restored using any disk tool utility.

You should also take into account the problem of so-called Windows Swap file. Swap file is the Windows system file that is used for the virtual memory support. The size of this file changes dynamically, and it can temporarily store the parts of files or other information. When you open your secret document, Swap file can be used by system to store a part of the document.

Wiping: what does it mean?

A wiping term is used here to call a process of shredding a contents of a file or a free disk space. It will be impossible to restore the data stored before on the disk or in the file if you run a wiping utility.

BCWipe utility provides 3 ways to shred files' contents from the disk when you delete your sensitive files:

. Delete with wiping. Using 'Delete with wiping' command you can delete and wipe your files and folders from Windows Shell (Explorer program).
. Wipe free disk space. If you have deleted sensitive files using standard operating system command, you may wipe free space on the disk where these files were stored - all previously deleted files' contents become erased.
. Swap file wiping. BCWipe utility automatically wipes Windows Swap file contents when you run 'Wipe free disk space' command."

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish