JSI Tip 0857. Clear Last Username from Logon Dialog Utility.


In tip 025, we cleared the last user name from the logon dialogue box of a Windows NT platform.

ClrName clears the last username on Windows NT, Windows 2000, Windows 95, and Windows 98.

"Clear Logon Username
Version 1.3 

ClrName is a small utility that clears the last user's name from the Windows 95/98/NT/2000 logon dialog box.

Unlike Windows NT, which offers this functionality through a registry entry, 
the last user's login name is always loaded when Windows 95/98/2000 starts, 
representing what some might consider a minor security issue.

Just add ClrName to your Startup folder, and the name is automatically cleared.

ClrName has a built-in 15-second delay before the last-username Registry entry is cleared.
That means if you call ClrName from your login/Logon script,
it has enough time to finish execution before the Windows logon completes
and the shell is loaded. You can specify any number of seconds of delay as a command-line parameter."

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish