When you pause a service:
. Existing connections are not affected.
. New connections are blocked for ordinary users.
. New connections are allowed for members of the Domain Admins, Administrators, and Power Users groups.
How a service behaves when it is paused depends on the service, but mostly revolve around granting special privileges to accounts belonging to privileged groups.