How do I delete an orphaned share?

A. An orphaned share is one that the directory it shares has been deleted. If you delete a directory in Explorer that is shared any shares will automatically removed. If you delete by a different method, such as from the command prompt then the share will be left and it may result in messages in the System Event Log of the form:

The server service was unable to recreate the share NTFAQ because the
directory D:\ntfaq files no longer exists.

You can manually update the registry to remove these "rogue" shares.

  1. Start the registry editor (regedt32.exe)
  2. Move to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\lanmanserver\Shares
  3. There is an entry for each share
    Click here to view image
  4. Select the entry for the share you wish to delete and select Delete from the Edit menu.
  5. Click Yes to the confirmation
  6. If the share had special security set it will also have an entry under the Security sub-key so move to Security (under Shares), select the share value name and delete

If you type net share the share name will still be displayed until the lanmanserver service is restarted. If you manually restart it will also stop the services, net logon, computer browser and Distributed File System.

Another method (if you have access) is to use Server Manager in NT 4.0, connect to the machine and orphaned shares are grayed out, you can then delete them. Windows 2000 Computer Manager does not display orphaned shares in a different colour making this approach impossible in Windows 2K.


TAGS: Windows 8
Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish