How can I stop Windows XP My Network Places from displaying comments twice?

A. In XP, you can give each machine a machine name and a comment to display when users browse the network. XP adds the comment to the name of the machine, so the comment essentially appears twice when you view the network, as the following example shows:

Name Comments 
John Savill (savtech1) John Savill 
Net Server (savtech2) Net Server

If this naming scheme is confusing, you can remove the comments column by right-clicking the Comments title and clearing the check next to Comments from the context menu.

Hide comments