How can I stop Windows 9x profiles being copied to the home directory?

A. By default if individual profiles are configured on a Windows 9x machine the profile is also copied to the users home directory (usually a network share) which means the user has the same desktop settings on any 9x machine. If you don't want this behaviour but still want individual settings perform the following on each machine:

  1. Start the registry editor (regedit.exe)
  2. Move to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Network\Logon
  3. From the Edit menu select New - DWORD value
  4. Enter a name of UseHomeDirectory and press Enter
  5. Double click the new value and set to 0
  6. Close the registry editor
  7. Reboot the machine

Once the reboot is complete the users profile will no longer be copied to the network share.


Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish