How can I stop my environment changes being saved when I logoff?

A. By default when you Logoff, Windows stores your settings into your profile and this includes any open Explorer windows, position changes etc. It is possible to stop NT saving these settings:

  1. Start the registry editor (regedit.exe)
  2. Move to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer
  3. From the Edit menu select "New - DWORD value". Enter a name of "NoSaveSettings"
  4. Double click the new value and set to 1

When you logoff any open windows will not be reopened and savings will not be saved. This setting can also be set domain wide using the policy editor.

  1. Start the policy editor (poledit.exe)
  2. Open your domains policy (or create a new one)
  3. Double click Default User
  4. Expand Shell - Restrictions
  5. Check the 'Don't save settings at exit'
  6. Click OK
  7. Save the policy to the netlogon share of the domain controllers.

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish