After I use the Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 Recovery Storage Group, do I need to delete its contents?

A. Yes, after you finish a recovery operation, you should delete all databases in the Recovery Storage Group and delete the group itself. If you fail to do so, you'll encounter problems when you try to perform a typical restore, because Exchange might still store the data in the Recovery Storage Group instead of placing it in the usual storage group location.

If you want to leave the Recovery Storage Group in place, you must tell the backup API to ignore the group by performing the following steps:

  1. Start a registry editor (e.g., regedit.exe).
  2. Navigate to the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\MSExchangeIS\ParametersSystem registry subkey.
  3. From the Edit menu, select New, DWORD Value.
  4. Enter the name Recovery SG Override, double-click the new value, set it to 1, then click OK.

Be very careful when you perform these steps. If you later delete the Recovery Storage Group but you neglect to delete (or set to 0) the registry value that you created in Step 3 and another administrator later recreates the Recovery Storage Group for a restore operation, that restore operation will overwrite the original database rather than use the Recovery Storage Group database, which will result in serious production problems.

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish