Symantec Shutting Down Norton Zone Access in 30 Days, Deleting All Files in 60

Symantec Shutting Down Norton Zone Access in 30 Days, Deleting All Files in 60

When Symantec unveiled Norton Zone in May 2013, the intent was to provide a secure file sharing service for businesses. As part of the service, uploaded to Symantec's servers would be encrypted and scanned for malware. Of course, with the rise of more popular Cloud storage services like OneDrive and Google Drive, Symantec found that its limited 5GB of storage just wasn't enough to compete.

If you visit the NortonZone.com site today, you'll be addressed by a takedown notice. Those just visiting the service for the first time to setup an account will not be able to do so. If you're an existing customer, Symantec has outlined the path to discontinuation.

For the next 30 days, account holders will have full access to Norton Zone. On July 7, 2014, Symantec will limit access to files stored on their servers to only computers (no mobile device access) and will disable all file functions except for the ability to download stored files so they can be migrated to another Cloud storage service.

On August 6, 2014, Symantec will delete all files, scrub their servers, and the service will be shut down completely. Once this date hits, the files will no longer be accessible by either subscribers or Symantec.

Current subscribers should already be receiving emails about the service termination and notified about an automatic refund of subscriptions fees in full.

For more clarification and to answer any burning questions, Symantec has setup a special end-of-life FAQ for Norton Zone. You can find that here: Norton Zone FAQ

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish